The Musical Offering (Musikalisches Opfer or Das Musikalische Opfer), BWV 1079, is a collection of keyboard canons and fugues and other pieces of music by Johann Sebastian Bach, all based on a single musical theme given to him by Frederick the Great (Frederick II of Prussia), to whom they are dedicated.

 The Musical Offering comprises:

  • Two Ricercars, written down on as many staves as there are voices:

o             a Ricercar a 3 (a three-voice fugue)

o             a Ricercar a 6 (a six-voice fugue)


  • Ten Canons:

o             Canones diversi super Thema Regium:

             2 Canons a 2 (the first representing a notable example of a crab canon or canon cancrizans)

             Canon a 2, per motum contrarium

             Canon a 2, per augmentationem, contrario motu

             Canon a 2, per tonos

o             Canon perpetuus

o             Fuga canonica in Epidiapente

o             Canon a 2 "Quaerendo invenietis"

o             Canon a 4

o             Canon perpetuus, contrario motu            


  • A Sonata sopr'il Soggetto Reale – a trio sonata featuring the flute, an instrument which Frederick played, consisting of four movements:

o             Largo

o             Allegro

o             Andante

o             Allegro


«Музыкальное приношение» (нем. Das Musikalische Opfer), BWV 1079, — это цикл канонов, фуг и других музыкальных произведений, написанных И. С. Бахом, основанных на теме, продиктованной Баху прусским королём Фридрихом II, и посвящённых ему.

«Музыкальное приношение» состоит из:

  • Двух ричеркаров (изложены в виде партитуры):
  • шестиголосный ричеркар (фуга);
  • трёхголосный ричеркар (фуга);
  • Девяти канонов;
  • Канонической фуги;
  • Четырёхчастной трио-сонаты с участием флейты, на которой играл Фридрих.


Исключая трио-сонату, написанную для флейты, скрипки и генерал-баса, в пьесах стоит мало указаний относительно инструментов, на которых их предполагается исполнять.